Help : Imported Lab Results

Electronic lab results (including Quest) are shown in the Imported Lab Results block on the schedule page. Clicking on an entry brings up the results, which are displayed inside a PDF or HTML document, in an "Assign to Patient" pop out window.

Technical note: imported lab results are displayed inside a PDF (Quest) or HTML document. But the system also stores the lab values themselves and associates these values with the results document. So, for example, MD HQ would store not only the Quest results document shown in the screenshot, but also the fact that the patient named TC4 Test had a measured hemoglobin A1C value of 4.6% on 01/20/2014. This allows for tracking of lab values over time, searching for patients with test results in a specified range, etc.

Assigning Imported Lab Results to a Patient

The Assign to Patient pop out is primarily used to confirm (or occasionally, specify) which patient the results are for, set up a task for one provider or all providers if the lab results require review by a provider, and get rid of documents that are not needed (for example, preliminary results, where the final results have also been received).

Generally the results will be automatically matched to the patient for whom they were ordered. If the system cannot match to a patient (or matches to the wrong patient), you can select the correct patient manually. If the wrong patient is shown, click the [x] beside the patient's name to display an "Assign Patient" search bar.

Assign to Patient Pop Out

 

By default, the document title is the name of the lab tests performed. The default document type is "Labs". Both of these default values can be edited.

The check box for "Needs to be Reviewed by" is used to add the results document to a selected provider's task list or, if "ANY DOCTOR" is selected, to every provider's task list. If ANY DOCTOR is selected, the task will disappear from all task lists as soon as one provider marks it as complete.

Checking "Review Results Now" pulls up a reviewing pop out (described below) when you click "Assign to this Patient."

The DELETE RESULT icon at the bottom right is for discarding results that are not needed, like preliminary or duplicate results.

Reviewing Results

The review results pop out is identical to the pop out that you see when you click on any document that has been uploaded to a patient's file (except that the lab values themselves remain associated with the PDF or HTML document that displays those results - see technical note at the top of this help section).

Document Review Pop Out ScreenshotIn the top left of the Document Review pop out, you can indicate that the document should be reviewed by a provider or ANY DOCTOR, in which case it will go on the task list of all providers until one marks the task as complete. Just above the document viewing pane, there may be other functions you can perform on the document, depending on the document file type, like use as the basis of an outgoing fax, open in a new tab or window without the document review pane, and print.

In the document review pane to the right of the document, the results document's editable default TITLE is simply the name(s) of the test(s) performed. The default document TYPE (Labs) can be changed using the drop down menu provided.

The RESULTS drop down menu lets you specify whether the lab results shown are normal, uncertain/borderline, or abnormal. Create a follow up task that will appear on your own task list after the specified time period using the FOLLOW UP drop down menu.

Document Notify via Portal ScreenshotThe NOTIFY PATIENT functions let you specify whether the patient has been notified and notify the patient via secure message on the patient portal or by email. Clicking "Email Patient" pulls up a new email message in your email client (e.g., Gmail, Yahoo, etc.) in a new tab, with the patient's email address entered in the "to" field. Remember: you should never send secure or private information via email.

Clicking on "Notify by Portal" brings up a text box for you to type in your message or select from preset notification messages that you have created, if applicable. You can also manage your preset messages from by clicking on the "Select from a preset message" drop down menu. When you save the document, any message that you have entered here will automatically be sent to the patient via secure message, and a generic notification will be sent to the patient via email.

Enter any notes you would like in the notes field. These are visible when the document is opened for review and when you hover the mouse cursor over the document. Notes that you enter here are not visible to the patient if the document is shared via the Patient Portal.

Checking "Flag as Key Document" adds the document to the patient's Key Documents, which are shown prominently in the documents block on the patient dashboard.

Checking "Add to Past Med History?" adds the document to the patient's Past Medical History block.

Checking "Show in Pt's Online Portal?" makes the document visible to the patient via the Patient Portal. This option is only available if the patient has Portal access enabled.

Click "Save and re-open in a new SOAP note" to save any changes, open a new encounter note and re-open the document in front. Then, you can toggle between the document and the encounter note as needed (minimize the document view by clicking on the minimize icon in the upper right hand corner of the Review Document pop out).

Click "View patient's dashboard in a new tab" to open the patient's dashboard page in a new tab. This is useful, for example, where you have opened the Document Review pop out from your task list and so do not have the patient's chart in front of you.

Finally, you can match the results to open orders using the MATCH TO OPEN ORDERS check boxes (which initially appear only if there are open orders that have not yet been matched to any results). Once you check the box to assoicate an open order with a results document, that order will continue to appear in the same location beside a now-checked checkbox when the Review Document pop out is opened for that document. You may uncheck the box at any time to disassociate the open order from that document.