Help : Making a Patient Inactive

Patient basic info pop up

To make a patient INACTIVE within MD HQ, go to their chart and click on the pencil icon at the top right of the Patient Information block (below the patient photo). Use the drop-down menu in the bottom right-hand corner of the Basic Data tab to change the status of the account to INACTIVE.

Making a patient INACTIVE does several things. First, it no longer allows the patient to access the patient portal. It also marks them as inactive throughout the system, putting a large red INACTIVE banner across the photo in their chart and identifying them as inactive in patient searches. In the Advanced Patient Search window, there is an option to search only for active patients, which excludes any patients marked as inactive. All of the patient's information remains in the system, and they can be changed back to ACTIVE status by the same method at any time.

These changes are also applied to patients marked as DECEASED.