Help : Patient Portal Queue

Patient Portal Queue

The Patient Portal Queue displays requests and secure messages coming from the Patient Portal. Expand the Queue by clicking the pop-out button at the top right of the Patient Portal block on the Scheduling page. From there, it's easy to complete a request using the yellow "helper button" to the right, which takes a different action depending on what the patient requested. So, for example, clicking on the helper button beside a prescription refill request opens a new encounter note and adds the requested prescription.

To respond to a request via secure message, click on the secure message icon Secure Message Icon to the left of the request.

By default, the patient will be notified by email that she has a secure message waiting in the patient portal and the secure message will be associated with the specific request. But you can override these default settings using the checkboxes provided. Use the drop down menu to indicate whether, when the secure message is sent, the original request should be (a) left open, (b) dismissed as completed, or (c) dismissed because it will not be completed.

Enter text in the Message to Patient: field of the Send a Secure Message pop up. It is easy to review prior messages by clicking the Archive Icon...Show past correspondence with this patient link at the bottom of the pop up window.

A request is left open until it is manually dismissed by clicking on the "dismiss as completed" icon Dismiss Complete Icon or "dismiss because it will not be completed" icon Dismiss Incomplete Icon to the left of the request or selecting the appropriate option from the drop down menu in the Send Secure Message pop up.

Dismissing a request puts it in the Patient Portal Archive, which is viewable by clicking on the history icon Archive Icon in the top right hand corner of the Patient Portal Queue. The Patient Portal Archive is searchable using the search bar provided and archived items are shown by date of request and patient name in reverse chronological order.

Help: Un-Archiving Patient Portal Requests

Sometimes you accidentally archive a request without meaning to, or you need to go back and revise the way you handled a request. It's easy to un-archive these requests and push them back into the active queue. From the Patient Portal Queue page:

  1. Click on the history icon Archive Icon in the top right hand corner of the Patient Portal Queue to bring up the list of handled portal queue items.
  2. From the Recent Portal Activity window that pops up, simple find the request you'd like to un-archive and click the Status column (Completed/Rejected/etc):

    Recover a handled message
  3. You'll be prompted to confirm that you want to mark the selected request as un-reviewed. Simply say yes at this prompt.

  4. Close the Patient Portal Queue history window and you should find the message/request back in the active portal queue.